---
title: Ability to copy a view
slug: hyper-portal/ability-to-copy-a-view
docTags: 
createdAt: 2024-10-16T09:53:03.939Z
---



This feature will allow users to easily duplicate an existing view with settings and immediately switch to the copied view.

### UI:

- In the "Edit View" menu, under the existing "Save Default View" option, there is a menu item called "Copy View".

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/5goaGPkGyPYxtK7K75CEC/32ahbB-ONDSyizxjHDjhv_copy-view.png" size="64" width="850" height="732" position="center" showCaption="false"}

### Logic:

- When a user clicks **"Copy View"**, a new view will be created, which is an exact copy of the current view (including all filters, columns, grouping row, sorting, row height, and metrics, except for the share settings).
- Once the new view is created, the user will be **automatically redirected&#x20;**&#x74;o the newly created view.

### Share settings:

- Share settings will not be copied. If the original view was shared with other users, those settings will not carry over to the copied view.
- If a user wishes to share the new view, they will need to manually configure and share the view with other users.

